Richard Dawkins Award

The Center for Inquiry presents the Richard Dawkins Award annually to a distinguished individual from the worlds of science, scholarship, education or entertainment, who publicly proclaims the values of secularism and rationalism, upholding scientific truth wherever it may lead. 

It has been awarded each year since 2003 and was originally given by the Atheist Alliance of America in coordination with Richard Dawkins and the Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason & Science (RDFRS). Since 2019, the award has been given exclusively by the Center for Inquiry of which RDFRS is a part. Richard Dawkins must approve the recipient and bestows the award with a personal tribute to the awardee.

Award Winners

2020: Javed Akhtar (Learn More)

2019: Ricky Gervais

2018: Stephen Fry

2017: David Silverman

2016: Lawrence M. Krauss

2015: Jerry Coyne

2014: Rebecca Goldstein

2013: Steven Pinker

2012: Eugenie Scott

2011: Christopher Hitchens

2010: Susan Jacoby

2009: Bill Maher

2008: Ayaan Hirsi Ali

2007: Daniel Dennett

2006: Julia Sweeney

2005: Penn & Teller

2004: Ann Druyan

2003: James Randi